It began on July 2 and it’s only a matter of seven more days when the chosen ONE will behold fame and fortune. Yes, we are talking about the heart-throbbing $10,000 No-Hold’em Main Event Championship. The day started with a field of 2,460 players, which, though awaiting official confirmation, has whittled down to 1,235 survivors.  Shawn Daniels is sitting atop the leaderboard with a bagful of 5,32,500 chips.

Those Who Made It And Those Who Didn’t

With players like Eric Liebeler (5,31,000) and Samuel Bernabeu (5,24,000) right behind Daniels, it can be said that Day 2AB had a fair share of nail-biting moments. Next in line are Michael Dyer and Casey McCarrel with 5,02,400 and 5,01,800 chips respectively. Day 1B head-starter Smain Mamouni managed to collect 4,81,500 chips for the day.

The power couple of poker- Alex Foxen and Kristen Bicknell also got past Day 2AB. Foxen built a stack of 2,38,900 and Bicknell bagged 2,02,800 chips, thus, securing their tickets to Day 3.

While some of the former champions like Chris Ferguson (1,60,000), Johnny Chan (1,07,200), Scotty Nguyen (74,300), and Greg Merson (68,300) are looking forward to repeating history, a few noteworthy names have called it the day. Two-time ‘November Niner’ Antoine Saout, and former WSOP ME title-holders Joe Hachem and Ryan Riess are out of the race already. Notables including Daniel Negreanu, Andrew Moreno, Marcel Luske, Chris Vitch, Jonas Mackoff, John Racener, Vanessa Selbst also failed to make the cut.

Players From India

The survivors from flight C have proceeded into Day 2. And, SIXTEEN players from India can be seen in action.

Paawan Bansal (1,45,500),

Vivek Rughani (1,11,800),

Mayank Jaggi (79,500)

Yudhishter Jaswal (76,300),

Nikita Luther (71,000),

Shashank Jain (70,000),

Aproova Goel (69,400),

Kartik Ved (66,500),

Nishant Sharma (63,200),

Aditya ‘Intervention’ Agarwal(60,300),

Nipun Java (57,500),

Akash Malik (54,000),

Sriharsha Doddapaneni (46,200),

Muskan Sethi(34,700),

Vikram ‘Lungi’ Kumar (28,700),

Jasven Saigal (13,000) and,

Abhinav Iyer (8,600)

So, now what? We are waiting for Day 2C to end to get our hands on the list of “who made it” and “who didn’t” into Day 3 of the Main Event. With the onset of Day 3 on July 7, the final leg of the WSOP championship battle will begin and finally culminate on July 14- the day of celebration for that ONE winner who will Take It All!

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Related Posts