The WPT India High Roller freeze-out event at the Deltin Royale Goa  ended after 2 gruelling days on Saturday 11th Nov. Rajnish Kumar from Patna emerged champion in the grand event and claimed ₹36.38L for his efforts.

Rajnish Kumar- Champion for WPT India 100k Highroller

The tournament registered 148 entries. 41 players managed to survive Day 1 with Bharat Janardhan leading with 403,500 chips.

Day 2 a witnessed a quick trimming of the pack amid fast eliminations. PokerBaazi pro Vikram Kumar was the unlucky player on the money bubble, losing out to well-known player Sumit Sapra. The leader of the lot at the beginning of play, Bharat Janardhan became the player to exit on the final table bubble in 10th place.

Rajesh finished 2nd place.

On the final table, Vinay SK led the final 9 in chips, with a sizeable lead on the next big stack – Sapra. Incidentally, the eventual champion, Rajnish Kumar entered the final table with the lowest stack. This was however, not the first time the player with the lowest stack at the start of the final table has gone on to win the tournament at this WPT India series, with Sandeep Tulsyan having achieved the feat in the earlier event.

Sanjay Taneja was the first player to get eliminated at the final table at the hands (or specifically cards) of Girish Sampath.

Eventual winner Kumar then went on a brutal run, eliminating Vaibhav Sharma, Phanindra Akina, Girish Sampath and Amit Sur in a row to chip-up exponentially. Sapra was the next to fall, going down to Vinay SK.

The action went on to final 3 players Vinay SK, Kumar and Rajesh Rajpopat.  As the elimination continued it was Vinay SK who finished in 3rd place for ₹14, 69,000.

In the final hand, Kumar holding J-Q from SB shoved all-in and Rajesh, with pocket nines, from BB made the call. The board ran out K-Q-10-A-10, bringing about a straight for Kumar and whole lot of winnings!

Final Table Results (INR)

  1. Rajnish Kumar – ₹36,38,000
  2. Rajesh Rajpopat – ₹24,49,000
  3. Vinay Sk – ₹14,69,000
  4. Sumit Sapra – ₹11,54,000
  5. Amit Sur – ₹8,75,000
  6. Girish Sampath – ₹7,35,000
  7. Phanindra Akkina – ₹5,95,000
  8. Vaibhav Sharma – ₹5,25,000
  9. Sanjay Taneja – ₹4,54,880

For more of the best Online poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots.

Related Posts