Recently, a major WSOP event, the Zynga Poker WPT500 Las Vegas, came to the conclusion. The first stop of Season 5 of WPT500 was held at Aria Resort and Casino, from June 25 – July 3. The event had a buy-in of $570 and featured nine starting flights along with Day 2 and Day 3, leading up to the finale. Kyriakos Papadopoulos survived 9 days of gruelling action before he finally became the title owner. Along with the title, he took back home the top prize money of  $2,07,940.

Two Indian poker geniuses showed spectacular performances-  Harshil Dhingra and Kunal Patni. Sadly, neither made it to the Final Table. Dhigra finished 12th for $16,450 (~ ₹11.30 Lakhs) while Patni finished 16th for $10,740 (~ ₹7.38 Lakhs). India’s Jasven Saigal also participated in the event but was railed in the 116th place for $1,900 (~₹1.30 Lakhs).

Final Table Recap

Day 3 started with 9 finalists competing for the top prize of  $2,07,940. The title champion, Papadopoulos, had begun the final table as the chip leader.

After half an hour of the play, the first elimination happened. At the 9th position,  Joseph Guarino had to bid farewell to the felt. Just 10 minutes later, Zynga Poker VIP Hugh Grant was eliminated in the 8th position. Following him, next, Greg Gius, was forced out of the final table by the community cards.

After three quick minutes, Chris Bell was the next casualty at the hands of Papadopoulos. He was railed at the 5th place.

Following him out the door was Adi Ben Ami who couldn’t improve holding pockets tens over his opponent, Bobby Poe’s pocket jacks.

The remaining three fought for the next 1 hour. Finally, Hoan Nguyen was eliminated, making way for the exciting heads-up. It was now Papadopoulos Vs Bobby Poe.

The heads-up continued for 2 long hours. None of the two was ready to let go of the title. From the button, Papadopoulos moved all in for 4,74,00,000 and Poe tanked for a while before making the call. Finally, the heads-up ended as follows:

Poe card 3card 3

Papadopoulos card 1card 3

Papadopoulos was in good shape and fortunately for him, nothing changed on the rundown card 2card 3card 3card 2card 3. At last, he walked away with the championship trophy along with the $2,07,940 top prize.

Final Table Results (USD)

1. Kyriakos Papadopoulos – $2,07,940

2. Bobby Poe – $1,39,960

3. Hoan Nguyen – $1,03,060

4. Adi Ben Ami – $76,750

5. Chris Bell – $57,800

6. James Morris – $44,000

7. Greg Gius – $33,800

8. Hugh Grant – $26,310

9. Joseph Guarino – $21,110

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Related Posts