Presented by Party Poker LIVE, the 2017 Caribbean Party Poker returned with a brand new edition at the Melia Caribe Tropical in Punta Cana, the Dominican Republic. The series began on Nov 19 and will run through till Nov 26. The series features a massive $10,000,000 in guaranteed prize pools across various events including a whopping $5 million guaranteed Main Event called the partypoker MILLIONS Caribbean.

As the inaugural event of the 2017 Caribbean Poker Party Festival came to an end, it was Preben Stokkan who outlasted the field of 103 players. The poker pro received $275,00 for the coveted title and the $10,300 buy-in ‘MILLIONS’ High Roller event concluded with Stokkan defeating Jonathan Little in heads-up play.

The final table began with a couple of short stacks, and as the elimination continued the table was set with five players and they battled and tossed chips around for quite some time. Kenny Hallaert busted in the 5th place for  $85,000. With four players left to battle, Alexandru Papazian pushed all in with {a-Spades}{8-Diamonds} and was called by Greenwood’s {a-Clubs}{9-Clubs}. Although Papazian flopped an eight, Greenwood flopped a flush, and Papazian exited in fourth-place. Soon after, Sam Greenwood had to settle for 3rd place bagging $124,100.

Preben ‘prebzzz’ Stokkan emerged victorious.

At this stage Preben Stokkan and noted poker player and author, Jonathan Little were the 2 remaining players vying for the title. After 2 hours of heads-up play, Stokkan moved all-in from the button with A-5 and Little called with pocket threes. After a K-4-2  flop, the ace of diamonds fell on the turn, and then a 3 came on the river, giving a splendid win to Stokkan.  He claimed the title along with the $275,000 first prize which is his poker career’s biggest live cash so far. In total, Stokkan has now around $800,000 in live tournament earnings.

Final Table Results

Place Name Country Prize (USD)
1st Preben Stokkan Norway $275,000
2nd Jonathan Little United States $175,000
3rd Sam Greenwood Canada $124,100
4th Alexandru Papazian Romania $100,000
5th Kenny Hallaert Belgium $85,000
6th Pascal Lefrancois Canada $70,000
7th Steffen Sontheimer Germany $55,000
8th Sean Winter United States $40,000
9th Felipe Ramos Brazil $30,000

For more of the Online poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Related Posts