It has been 5 days since the commencement of PokerStars Carribean Adventure. After the splendid win of Cary Katz, Steve O’Dwyer, the Irish High roller specialist, took down the winner’s title of $50,000 High Roller, the second time in a row, and walked away with a prize money of $769,500.

The elimination on the Final Table occurred in the following sequence – Orpen Kisacikoglu  (sixth place), Benjamin Pollak  (fifth place),  Erik Seidel (4th place) and Jean-Noel Thorel (third place). After the elimination, it was a heads-up battle between two poker experts- Steve O’Dwyer and Byron Kaverman.

Steve O’Dwyer

It didn’t take much long for O’Dwyer to take on a 3-to-1 lead. Soon, O’Dwyer secured his winner’s position with his jack-ten against the queen-nine of Kaverman; a jack, flipped on the flop round, gifted the win to O’Dwyer.

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Steve O’Dwyer – $769,500
  2. Byron Kaverman – $531,860
  3. Jean-Noel Thorel – $339,480
  4. Erik Seidel – $260,260
  5. Benjamin Pollak – $203,680
  6. Orpen Kisacikoglu – $158,420

$1,650 National Championship:

Simultaneously, another spectacular win was that of a young talent Maria Konnikova, who stepped into the league just a year back. $1,650 National Championship witnessed Konnikova battle against 290 entries to win the winner’s title and at the end she walked away with the winning prize amounting to $84,600 along with a Platinum Pass.

 $1,650 National Championship brought in spectacular poker players including  PokerStars Team pros Barry Greenstein and Jake Cody, Mike Leah, Kevin MacPhee, and Joseph Cheong.

Notable players like Rex Clinkscales (13th Place – $6,460), Dylan Wilkerson (20th Place – $4,560), Simon Deadman (23rd Place – $4,140), Katie Lindsay (32nd Place – $2,900) and Sylvain Loosli (38th Place – $2,900), won cash prizes.

Players got eliminated one by one in the Final table in the following sequence: Chris Moorman , Marcos Carneiro Antunes, Ryan Smith, Harrison Gimbel, Loek van Wely, and Kevin MacDonald.

Finally, it was a short heads-up battle between Konnikova and Alexander Ziskin. The felt served Konnikova with card 3 card 1 and Ziskin got card 2 card 1 as his hole cards. The  card 3 in the river round declared Konnikova’s flush draw bigger, in comparison to Ziskin’s straight and flush draw. Thus Konnikova was crowned as the winner at the end of the event.

Post her win, the champion said, “It feels amazing. I started poker from scratch a year ago. I have the best coach in the world, Erik Seidel, so I’ve been very lucky. I’ve been working really hard and it’s so validating to achieve this.”

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Maria Konnikova – $84,600
  2. Alexander Ziskin – $56,250
  3. Kevin MacDonald – $41,140
  4. Loek van Wely – $33,210
  5. Harrison Gimbel – $26,040
  6. Ryan Smith – $19,710
  7. Marcos Carneiro Antunes – $14,480
  8. Chris Moorman – $10,640

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Related Posts