Neeta Banker wins the Main Event for ₹1,32,384

Besting a field of pros and regs was Neeta Banker who clinched the WPT India ₹7,000 SHIP IT event for ₹1.32 Lakhs in prize money. She defeated Abhishek Jalan in the heads-up battle in the last round. Jalan finished runner-up for a second time at this year’s WPT India, having earlier lost out to Sandeep Tulsyan in the SuperStack Event.

The re-entry tournament featured a unique format. Each player started with a stack of 1,200 in the first round with the promise of another 10,000 chips for the second and final round.

The first round of the event featured five tables. The last remaining player on each table made it into the final round. Nishant Sharma, Adda52 Team Pro Kunal PatniAkhi Hiro, Neeta Banker and Abhishek Jalan were the 5 to make it to the second round.

The Final fiver Players At the Table

The eliminations in the last round started with Kunal Patni bowing out in fifth place to Jalan. Akhi Hiro fell next, with Jalan again the opponent.

Then, Nishant Sharma took a bad beat from Jalan and had to settle in third place. Jalan with Q-4, saw a flop of K-3-4 against Sharma’s K-2. Both players got it in with a pair each, albeit with Sharma in the lead. However, Jalan got lucky with another 4 on the river to face up against Neeta Banker for the title.

Banker, who admits to only playing poker as a hobby, had held her own amid a strong field until here. She was not about to let go however, with a topsy-turvy war against Jalan. Both players at different times were down to just a few BBs, but Banker managed to hold her nerve and claim the title in the end after winning four straight all-ins.

Final Table Results (INR)

  1. Neeta Banker – ₹1,32,384
  2. Abhishek Jalan – ₹79,430
  3. Nishant Sharma – ₹52,954
  4. Akhi Hiro – ₹39,715
  5. Kunal Patni – ₹26,477

For more of the best Online poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots.

Related Posts