The Asia Poker Tour has already started from the 21st of March and is underway at the Resorts World Manila. The series finishes on the 2nd of April. The Main Event was the first tournament to roll out and was played between March 24-28. The felt had a strength of 325 with an initial buy-in of ₱55,000, which took the prize pool to ₱15,762,500 and the top 55 positions made to the cash.

The Main Event found its winner in Filipino pro Lester Edoc who was awarded the championship trophy, the coveted APT Championship Ring, and the ₱2,674,900 top prize.

Just like in the other coveted Series and Tournaments of the poker world, we can see increasing Indian participation, APT was no different in this regard. Dilip Menon proudly represented India and survived up to the 31st position to cash  ₱134,000 (~₹1.67 Lakhs).

Another Indian player who cashed from APT is Jaydeep Dawer who secured the sixth position in the APT-RWM₱2 Million GTD Opening Event for ₱95,100 (~₹1.18 Lakhs).

Edoc At The Final Table:

There was a fierce gaming that existed at the final table right from the beginning till Hanna Khalife, who started with the chip lead, was busted in the 8th position. Next, it was Dylan Kii, who was railed at the 7th position. Following him, eventually, Patrick Liang, Yun Bong, Derrick Hernandez and Campomanes got eliminated at the 6th, 5th, 4th and 3rd position.

As soon as Campomanes got eliminated, it was time for the heads-up battle between the two finalists- Edoc and Yoshimura.

Two significant hands at the heads-up added an advantage to Edoc’s gaming as he doubled up his chips in those and claimed a chip lead of 6:1 over Yoshimura. Although Yoshimura had also managed to double up once, he couldn’t stand strong before Edoc for too long. In the final hand, Edoc was dealt with  card 1 card 2 against Yoshimura’s  card 3 card 2. The board flipped  card 2 card 3 card 1 card 3 card 3 and Edoc claimed his crown.

Final Table Results (PHP)

1. Lester Edoc – ₱2,674,900

2. Hiroyuki Yoshimura – ₱1,782,700

3. Flo Campomanes – ₱1,237,400

4. Derick Hernandez – ₱893,700

5. Yun Bong – ₱671,500

6. Patrick Liang – ₱523,300

7. Dylan Ming Teck Kii – ₱425,600

8. Hanna Khalife – ₱361,000

Other Side winners:


For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Related Posts