DPT Main Event Champion - Mayank Agarwal
DPT Main Event Champion – Mayank Agarwal

Mayank Agarwal won the 35K Main Event at the recently concluded Deltin Poker Tournament – April 17 for a massive payday of ₹27,50,100 and a DPT bracelet along with it. PokerShots, in a new edition featuring all the event winners, caught up with him so that our viewers can get to know him a little better.


Name: Mayank Agarwal
City: Kolkata
Age: 28
Playing Poker Since: Mid 2012

Poker Info

Q: Which is your Favourite Hand?
A:    I have won some of the biggest pots with this hand and I connect whenever i play it.

Q: Who is your Favourite Poker Player?
A: Daniel Negreanu for tournaments and I admire Patrick Antonius for cash games.

Danel Negreanu(L) and Patrick Antonius(R)
Danel Negreanu(L) and Patrick Antonius(R)

Q: Which player do you fear playing against the most?
A: I fear anyone who is better than me on the table but don’t give up and try to learn something each time while playing along with them.

Q: Where in the world do you like to play poker the most?
A: Goa.

Q: Which is your favourite poker website?
A: PokerStars for high value tournaments and to improve my game, and PokerBaazi for good cash tables and high-value tournaments which are organised every weekend.

Q: On a scale of 1 to 10, how much would you rate yourself as a poker player?
A: I would rate myself as 6/10 as a player.

Q: What is your playing ID and why did you chose it?
A: manky125308 (“manky” was my nick name and 125308 was my roll number in college respectively).

Q: What separates you from other players and what advice would you give to other poker players?
A: My discipline and patience along with proper game-selection and a conservative approach regarding my bankroll management separates me from other players and I would suggest the same to each and every player.

And Some Personal Stuff

Q: What is your favourite food?
A: I love to eat Indian and chaat because Kolkata has some of the best chaat counters.

Q: Who is your dream date?
A:  My dream date would be to find a trustworthy, loving and caring friend whom i can rely upon for a lifetime!

Q: If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?
A: I would definitely try to stay fitter and more active by exercising regularly.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge?
A: My biggest challenge was to reduce 45 kgs in a span of a year and a half since I’d bloated like a monster (to 138 kg) in Jan 2016. I’m happy that now that I’m fitter, and mentally and physically much stronger!


Related Posts