2018 World Series of Poker Circuit Rio Las Vegas $1,675 No-Limit Hold’em Main Event found its champion in Kevin Iacofano, who took down the winner’s title for $259,463 along with WSOP Circuit gold ring, which is his first.

The poker player is associated to the world of cards for more than a decade now and now, on his first win at live tournament, he expressed his ecstasy, “I feel absolutely amazing. This has been ten, twelve years of hard work.”

Nikhil Gera
Nikhil Gera

Iacofano had to survive a strong felt of 887 players and then get into a marathon heads-up battle against 2016 WSOP Circuit Bicycle Casino Main Event champion Nikhil Gera, to clinch the winner’s title for himself.

On the 24th of February, the inaugural game got closed for the next day after narrowing down the felt of 887 players to 155 for Day 2. Then on the Day 2, the felt was further narrowed down to 22 from 155. Iacofano was at the 7th position in terms of chips stack. Few of the notable players who graced the event but gradually got busted were Joe Kuether (15th place for $16,166), WSOP bracelet winner Arkadiy Tsinis (16th place for $13,318), and Rex Clinkscales (20th place for $9,353).

Final Table Recap:

The wound of elimination was first inflicted on Matt Affleck by Nikhil Gera and he hit the rail at the 9th position for  $24,694.

Next, Mark Kaganovsky was eliminated by Yashveen Mudireddy at the 8th place for $31,067. Following Kaganovsky, Jim Agate and Brett Bader were eliminated at the 7th and 6th place, respectively.

Mudireddy was eliminated at the 5th position followed by Jesse Cohen and Boris Kasabo at the 4th and 3rd position, respectively.

Kasabo’s elimination opened the heads-up battle between Gera and Iacofano. The board flipped  card 3 card 1 card 2 in the flop round and then subsequently card 3 and card 3 in the turn and river round, respectively. Iacofano’s card 2 card 3 forced Gera to muck his card and so, Gera had to sette for the position of the 1st runners-up.

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Kevin Iacofano – $259,463
  2. Nikhil Gera – $160,325
  3. Boris Kasabo – $118,095
  4. Jesse Cohen – $88,132
  5. Yashveen Mudireddy – $66,631
  6. Brett Bader – $51,025
  7. Jim Agate – $39,569
  8. Mark Kaganovsky – $31,067
  9. Matt Affleck – $24,694

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Related Posts