The first ever World Poker Tour (WPT) India got well and truly underway at the Deltin Royale in Goa on Tuesday 7th November with the 20K KickOff Event. The tournament series is a landmark event in the short history of Indian poker and signals the strong growth of the sport in recent years. The WPT India series is scheduled to run till the 13th of November with scores in the tournaments contributing towards the WPT India Player of the Year award.

Kanishka Samanth Wins 20K Kickoff at WPT India

Mumbai local and renowned poker pro Kanishka Samanth emerged victorious from the impressive 195 players who had made it for the event. The prize pool for the event was ₹36,87,840 with Samanth taking ₹9,12,000 for his efforts.

The 2-day event began with some international faces in the mix as well. Singapore’s Bryan Huang and Daniel Weinman were among those to make it to beach-laden state of Goa for the WPT India.

Among the Indian contingent, most of the usual suspects made it to the inaugural event. They included Adda52 Team Pros Amit Jain, Kunal Patni and (Celbrity Pro) Minisha Lamba. Among the other big names to grace the event were Sharad Rao, Navkiran Singh, Gaurav Jain, Zarvan Tumboli, Sahil Chutani, and Jasven Saigal.

Hitesh Punjabi was the unlucky one to burst on the money bubble in 23rd place, losing with   to Abhinav Jain’s set of tens.

Pawan Jain and Vinay S Kariputtakalank were the final eliminations on Day 1, going out in 10th and 9th positions respectively to leave the final 8 to battle it out on Day 2.

The final table on Day 2 began with Kanishka Samanth holding a slender chip lead over Alok Bhatt. Mayank Agarwal was the first casualty, losing out to Srinivas BZarvan TumboliNeelkanthan Murali and Ankush Aryan were the next to go – all losing out to Samanth.

Samanth continued his unbelievable rampage, eliminating Alok Bhatt next. Bhatt’s Kx 5x lost out to Samanth’s threes. Srinivas momentarily brought about a slight change in proceedings by ending Samanth’s streak of eliminations when he knocked out Sahil Chutani in 3rd position to take the play to heads-up, but Samanth’s chip lead was too big to overcome.

In the end, Kanishka Samanth was a worthy winner in the first WPT India event. More such champions are awaited.

#WPTIndiaVideos – Heads-up with Kanishka Samant

#WPTIndiaVideos – Heads-up with #WPTIndia '20K Kickoff NLH' champion Kanishka Samant at World Poker Tour (wpt) India 2017.#Champion #Poker #WPT #OPNIndia #Adda52 #Adda52Live Deltin Royale #Winner

Posted by Adda52 LIVE, Deltin Royale on Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Final Table Results (INR)

1. Kanishka Samant – ₹9,12,000

2. Srinivas B – ₹6,08,500

3. Sahil Chutani – ₹3,80,100

4. Alok Bhatt – ₹3,04,200

5. Ankush Aryan – ₹2,48,900

6. Neelkanthan Murali – ₹2,02,800

7. Zarvan Tumboli – ₹1,65,900

8. Mayank Agarwal – ₹1,29,100

For more of the best Online poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots.

Related Posts