Chris Ferguson is officially the World Series of Poker Player of the Year for 2017. The news came in an announcement by the WSOP via Twitter, earlier today.

Ferguson secured the title after John Racener was disposed of from the World Series of Poker Europe Main Event. Ferguson headed into the WSOPE Main Event with a wide 136.50 point lead over Racener while Ryan Hughes had 184 points to make up in third place.

For his POY win, Ferguson will receive an entry into the $10,000 buy-in WSOP Main Event next year in Las Vegas and get his face on a banner that will be displayed at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino with the other former WSOP Players of the Year and WSOP Main Event winners.

Chris Ferguson Clinches 2017 World Series of Poker Player of the Year

Ferguson went into the WSOPE last month with the lead in the Player of the Year race after his 17 cashes and two top-four finishes in $10,000 Championship events in the 2017 WSOP in Las Vegas. Additionally in the WSOPE, Ferguson was able to take down one event – the €1,650 Pot-Limit Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better tournament that concluded a few days ago.

The reaction of the poker world is rather mixed on Ferguson winning the Player of the Year award. Some are praising him on his splendid accomplishments, over the past six months. Others seem less likely to forgive Ferguson for his part in the Full Tilt Poker disaster,  stating that Ferguson winning is unpleasant for the profession of poker when all is said in done.

Previous WSOP POY Winners:

Year Winner Bracelets Won Final Tables
2004 Daniel Negreanu 1 5
2005 Allen Cunningham 1 4
2006 Jeff Madsen 2 4
2007 Tom Schneider 2 3
2008 Erick Lindgren 1 3
2009 Jeff Lisandro 3 4
2010 Frank Kassela 2 3
2011 Ben Lamb 1 4
2012 Greg Merson 2 2
2013 Daniel Negreanu 2 4
2014 George Danzer 3 5
2015 Mike Gorodinsky 1 3
2016 Jason Mercier 2 4

For more of the best Online poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots.

Related Posts