MIPL Season 3 Crowns Victory Title To Team Pune Kings!

//MIPL Season 3 Crowns Victory Title To Team Pune Kings!

MIPL Season 3 Crowns Victory Title To Team Pune Kings!

It’s a victory for Pune Kings at the Match Indian Poker League(MIPL) Season three. A joint-venture by Viaan Industries Ltd. of high-profile couple Shilpa Shetty-Raj Kundra and Switzerland-based International Federation of Match Poker (IFMP) gave birth to India’s first of its kind Poker League, back in 2016.

The three seasons so far have been an absolute success except for a tryst with Team Goa Lions. The state team of Goa and the MIPL parted ways leading to NINE teams, instead of the usual 10, this season.

However, undeterred by rumors and judicial proceedings, MIPL took place in Mumbai from October 23 to 24 as planned. The 2-day extravaganza was thoroughly enjoyed by players and fans alike.

Spear-headed by pro player Gaurav Gala, Team Pune Kings comprised the hot shots of Indian poker community. Online pros like Rubin Labroo, Akshay Nasa, and Shuchi Chamaria brought their seasoned tricks to the table ensuring the team shipped the title along with the prize money of INR 1.35 Crore.

The Day It All Began

Day 1 kicked off with some star-lit performances by Bollywood celebrities like Karishma Tanna, Shamita Shetty, Sanjeeda Sheikh, and Manj Musik. This was followed by a felicitation ceremony where International Federation of Match Poker (IFMP) President, Patrick Nally, bestowed the IFMP film Personality of the Year award to R. Madhavan and IFMP Sports Personality of the Year award to cricketer Harbhajan Singh.

Nine Teams participating in the PokerRaj MatchIPL Season 3 included- Haryana Hawks, Bangalore Royals, Kolkata Diamonds, Delhi Aces, Pune Kings, Mumbai All-Stars, Jaipur Jewels, Ahmedabad Hearts and UP Indians.

Day 1 play consisted of four sessions and 36 hands giving each team fair and square chance to analyze and strategize their moves. Defending champion Haryana Hawks started off on a positive note and continued to lead the charts until the end of Day 1.

Team Standing After Day 1

Haryana Hawks – 754.5

Bangalore Royals – 744.5

Pune Kings – 740.5

Mumbai All-Stars – 737.5

Kolkata Diamonds – 728.5

Delhi Aces – 715.5

Jaipur Jewels – 707

UP Indians – 690

Ahmedabad Hearts – 662

The Day 2 Saga

Moving on to the next and final day, four more sessions took place. However, after two sessions, the bottom 3 teams were eliminated. Consequently, six teams were left to battle out the second session of Day 2 where 46 hands were played. After a lot of ups and downs, Team Mumbai All-Stars were seen moving up the ladder to displace the top runner- Haryana Hawks.

Laced with excitement and awestruck moments, the final session of the match saw Delhi Aces finishing 4th for INR 50 Lakh, Bangalore Royals bagged INR 65 Lakh for making it to the 3rd place. And, it was only a matter of seven points that propelled Team Pune Kings to the first place leaving the runner-up title with Team Mumbai All-Stars who got a paycheck of INR 90 Lakh.

Final Results

Pune Kings – INR 1.35 Crores

Mumbai All Stars – INR 90 Lakhs

Bangalore Royals – INR 65 Lakhs

Delhi Aces – INR 50 Lakhs

PokerRaj King of Poker Player of the league award was handed over to Jaipur Jewels team pro Eka Vedantham.

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Spread the love
News|2018-10-29T04:55:41+00:00October 28th, 2018|