Christophe De Meulder Ships The 2018 Unibet Championship Main Event

//Christophe De Meulder Ships The 2018 Unibet Championship Main Event

Christophe De Meulder Ships The 2018 Unibet Championship Main Event

Just as the 2018 EPT Barcelona came to an end, the 2018 Unibet Poker Belgian Championship is keeping the excitement alive among the poker enthusiasts and players. Competing on a fierce felt, 458 strong, Christophe De Meulder finally took down the Main Event champion’s title. Along with the trophy, he also bagged the handsome top prize of €42,020.

Meulder at the 2018 Unibet Main Event

The felt had attracted 438 entrants which narrowed down to 9 players, in the final table. The elimination started with Fabrice Halleux. Dominique Potenza railed Halleux in the 9th place with his higher pair of kings on a board which had flipped  card 3card 1card 3card 1card 2.

Werner Schroons‘ had to leave the felt when Samir Akhoullou railed him with his ace cards. Post break, it was a tough encounter between Meulder and Dupont. Christophe 3-bet to 825,000. Although Dupont had higher cards ( card 1card 3), and the board had flipped card 1 on the river, he could not evade his elimination in the 7th place.

Soon, it was the fight of survival between Tom Hermans and Potenza. Sadly, despite his strong defence, Hermans was eliminated by Potenza’s pocket nines.

Following Hermans, three more eliminations took place, one after the other. First, Jonas Van Baelen was railed by Meulder in the fifth place. After him, Koen Lauwereys and Dominique Potenza‘s elimination in the 4th and 3rd place, respectively, paved way for the thrill-packed heads-up. Apparently, the eliminations are ironic owing to the fact Akhoullou and Meulder eliminated one player each to reach the heads-up.

Then began the heads-up battle- Samir Akhoullou VS  Meulder. Akhoullou started the heads-up with 13,250,000 while Meulder started with 8,650,000. After a tough fight, the latter took down the trophy with his four of a kind fives.

Final Table Results (EURO)

1. Christophe De Meulder – €42,020

2. Samir Akhoullou – €26,270

3. Dominique Potenza – €18,120

4. Koen Lauwereys – €13,420

5. Jonas van Baelen – €10,320

6. Tom Hermans – €7,940

7. Peter Dupont – €6,350

8. Schroons Werner – €5,080

9. Fabrice Halleux – €4,070

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Spread the love
News|2018-09-13T05:18:15+00:00September 5th, 2018|